An old rpg magazine, Mimesis

Back in the dim dark of my rpg life I was involved in writing and publishing an role playing game magazine. We were a rag tag (unskilled) group of optimists (confused) who thought it could be done better. And for one issue at least it was.

Mimesis issue one Cover I learn more about making people complete work, deadlines, printing methods, budgets, and haggling with stores than I did about roleplaying, and it was my first real action as a author that went somewhere.

Just recently I went sifting through the inter-web and found a rough table of contents, and the cover design. I’m chuffed something of it still exists, as I really thought it was only memory.In that edition I wrote an article about advancing Ars Magica magi from apprenticeship, which fitted to the third edition rules, and another article about using sorcery with an Egyptian feel. From memory the Apprenticeship rules would stand up today, as I remember being really proud of them.

On the other hand I really had no idea if the lore of Egypt in the middle ages matched at all what I wrote, so I suspect the “sorcery” was far from historic, but hey; it was content. Starting a mag with two articles on Ars Magica seemed like a great idea at the time.

It makes me think that the content freely given via blogs is content that would probably never see the light of day, and a slight percentage might have been used in fanzines and publications like this one.The Internet age grants us a massive capacity to share our rambling thoughts, but also to share real value, and if i had my time again I’d probably opt to produce an e-mag rather than a print mag, and pay for it via ad-clicks.

The cover art was by my brother Simon, who I think did an excellent job too, and given this was the pre-internet days (well very early use-net and pine days) having a team collaborating on a single edition, with fancy layout and artwork throughout was something different for a bunch of smelly gamers.

The site also included something of a review:

Volume 1- Magic

Contents
Apprentices in Ars Magica Starting out puny.
Chaos Magic Rotes for Mage For Mages who watch too much TV
Interview with Katherine Kerr Roleplaying and books interview.
History of the World (By an American.)
Sorcery for Ars Magica Rules for incorporating a new magic type into Ars Magica, the ancient Egyption srt of Sorcery. Also has conversion notes for GURPS and AD&D.
Magic in Roleplaying and Reality Magic, magic everywhere….
Other Points of Interest
Subscripions are $20 for 4 magazines. The magazine has a light cardboard cover and is 64 pages long. The magazine is printed in black and white and is set out quite well.

If only I could get a digital copy again, and post that up too.

Nostalgia is soothing.

10 thoughts on “An old rpg magazine, Mimesis

  1. I’d be surprised it it were around as digital as from memory it was only made Pdf-print-ready when it was supplied to the printer, but I cannot ever recall getting a copy of the raw files. Seem to recall it was an absolute bugger to get m around too. I’ve got my physical copy around too on the rpg shelf.

  2. hehe, you’ll have to see Lev about that. You might get more story than you bargained for though.
    I’d resigned my post with the Mimesis org between Issue #1 and #2, at the same time as a few others finished up as well.
    When we finished up I think there was a small list of issue two stuff slowly building, but we were reeling from the efforts involved in getting into print in the late 90s. Online is such a better platform for delivery of this kind of content, especially so if backers can be found to make the small details high quality.

  3. LOL.. I’ll ask him;) Were you involved with anything else (ie printed rpg) I collect all sorts of old (and obscure) rpg stuff

Leave a Reply

