I hope the next Dr Who has a plan

After watching all the Dr Who content and finally being “up to date” I can say without hesitation that I dislike the “deus ex machina”-ish and “hand-waving” that occurs in almost every story. Not enough to stop watching the show, but enough that I’ll be waiting before I watch again.

The Matt Smith seasons were full of improbable solutions, tap dancing around plot holes, and frankly some very over used side characters. i.e. That perky Sontarin, the Lizard Face lady, and Mrs BadWolf are top three on my list of frustrating npcs that could have been used either differently or a bit less.

By contrast I liked the background to the “impossible girl”. It made sense enough. It helps that she can act too. OK, the insanity is not to Matt Smith alone – but I recall thinking very oddly about a the Pond lady abandoning her child to a destiny as an assassin. Even when she then knows that the kid grows up fine, I cannot think a parent would really do that.

Lastly, I’d like to see the Dr have plans. Schemes even. He has been a mad-man-with-a-box for a while now, and it feels time enough for his superior intelligence, preparation, and observation to be the factor that makes him such a formidable adversary. No more “not having a plan” or yelling “don’t you know who I am” at each alien.

If that were an NPC in a roleplaying game the party would have shot him 100s of times. Or as a player I would have.

Anyway, like a typical geek I can not resist a complaint about a show I enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

